Home > Editorials, Hip-Hop, Lists > My 10 Favorite Storytelling Hip-Hop Records Part. II

My 10 Favorite Storytelling Hip-Hop Records Part. II

Recap:
10. Eminem – “Guilty Conscience” from The Slim Shady LP
9. A Tribe Called Quest – “8 Million Stories” from Midnight Marauders
8. NaS – “Rewind” from Stillmatic
7. The Notorious B.I.G. – “I Got A Story To Tell” from Life After Death [Disc. 1]
6. Ice Cube – “It Was a Good Day” from Predator

Part I

Part II of My 10 Favorite Storytelling Hip-Hop Records after the jump. Feel free to add your favorite songs or songs you think should have made the list.

5. Mos Def – “Ms. Fat Booty” from Black On Both Sides  Video/Listen

Logic: In my opinion, this Brooklyn native has one of the best deliveries in the game. On this classic storytelling record, Mos Def gives us III Scenes about a woman with a phenomenal backside who hypnotizes him and is later found “at the Kitty Club, with some bangin’ azz Asian playing lay it down and lick me up. What!?” This story is spit over one of the most soulful beats on the list, but the following song may have something to say about that…

Quotable: “Seen her on the Ave, spotted her more than once/Azz so fat you can see it from the front!…”

4. Outkast – “SpottieOttieDopaliscious” from Aquemini Video/Listen

Logic: The best artists to come out of the South bring us one of the most creative and funky stories on their classic album Aquemni. As trumpets blair through your speakers Andree 3000 and Big Boi spit poetic verses in such detail that you can visualize every line. Oukast proves they have the “art of storytellin” down with this classic record.

Quotable: “[Dre] As the plot thickens, it gives me the dickens/Reminiscent of Charles…”
“[Big Boi] When I first me my Spottieottiedopaliscious Angel/I can remember that damn thing like yesterday/The way she moved reminded me of a Brown Stallion horse with skates on/smooth like a hot comb on nappy as hair”

3. Lupe Fiasco – “The Coolest” from The Cool Video/Listen

Logic: As most of you already know, Lupe Fiasco is my favorite rapper. On this expansion of “The Cool” from his previous album Food & Liquor, he delivers maybe one of the complex and unique stories on this list. It may take you 15 listens to even catch all the elements of this record. Let’s call this the Shakespeare record of my list. Lupe tells the story of Michael Young, who is engulfed in a trilogy with himself, the Street’s, and the Game. Lupe never forgets the element of storytelling in hip-hop. See also, “He Say, She Say” and “The Cool” from Food & Liquor.

Quotable: “Come, these are the tales of the Cool/Guaranteed to make you go and fail from your school/And seek unholy grails like a fool/And hang with the players of the pool/Fast talkin of the hustle/No Heaven up above you/No Hell underneath you/And no one will receive thee…”

2. Common – “I Used To Love H.E.R.” from Resurrection Video/Listen

Logic: When I made this list, I had Common’s “Testify” on my list around the 7th spot. Then I remembered this classic record from his first album and realized that as a hip-hop fan… there isn’t a better story than this (especially in the current state of hip-hop). This song is self explanatory and upon first listen you won’t realize how great it is. Once you reach the end, you will then feel the true impact of Common’s “I Used To Love H.E.R.”.

Quotable: “I met this girl when I was 10 years old/and what I loved most she had so much soul/She was old-school when I was just a shorty/Never knew throughout my life she would be there for me…”

1. Slick Rick – “Children’s Story” from The Adventures of Slick Rick Video/Listen

Logic: Do I even have to explain this? Crumbs!!

Quotable: “Here we go,/Once upon a time not long ago/when people wore pajamas and lived life slow…”

Fin.

Categories: Editorials, Hip-Hop, Lists Tags: , ,
  1. June 5, 2010 at 9:33 am

    YES! This is the list right here! Good times… good times.

    By the way I do think Testify is a GREAT story.

    Thanks for these memories, King!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

