Home > Movies/Film > DVD Spotlight: “Why We Laugh”

DVD Spotlight: “Why We Laugh”

After doing some research, it looks like this documentary debuted at Sundance last year and may have also appeared on Showtime. It is directed by Robert Townsend and features interviews with different scholars and actors. It is set to release tomorrow April 27th or you can do like me and pre-order it on Amazon today!

This is a topic that I feel needs to be discussed so I would recommend you check it out. I might do a review after I watch it. So stay tuned.

Sidenote: We here at The Truth Renaissance are Anti-Coon and do not endorse any type of Coonory or Minstrelsy.

Categories: Movies/Film Tags: , , ,
  1. KanGoodz
    August 3, 2010 at 11:40 pm

    Hopefully you do a review on this. I had the pleasure of watiching this documentary and agreed that comedy has changed. I find myself being taken back by all of the “new/youg” comics. There is a big difference between comedy that is social, political, or what-have-you verses comdey that is explicit, vulgar, and down right disrespectful to your own. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not tooting my nose up at anything. I just feel more compelled to indulge my senses in jokes that make a person think about a situation/circumstance, rather than loose language that deconstructs a community. (Side Note) You don’t hear Jewish people cracking jokes about the Holocaust.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

